B

Bloom's Literature

Bloom's Literary Reference Online features hundreds of essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world, as well as thousands of critical articles by noted scholars from the Bloom's Literary Criticism imprint. With an archive of more than 42,000 characters and extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, and genres, the database contains thousands of entries and almost 170 video segments. The "Bloom's How to Write about" section contains essays on how to write about literature, including crafting strong thesis statements and conclusions, writing outlines, properly citing sources, and sample essay topics. Links for popularly assigned authors list essays about the authors and their works. "How to Cite" guidance includes full citations in MLA, Chicago, and APA style, and the dictionary tool allows users to look up more than 34,000 words. Author biographies link to a list of major works, and works are linked to a list of principal characters.

C

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides access to full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also provides full text for more than 220 books/monographs

Aside from the full-text content, CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides access to indexing for 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,200 journals are also included. Full text material includes 72 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.

E

Ebooks on Ebsco

Access to over 285,000 electronic books including reference books, scholarly monographs, publications of many university presses, and consumer books that have been converted into digital format. It is possible to perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online.

Encyclopædia Britannica Online

The Encyclopædia Britannica database includes thousands of articles from the printed Encyclopædia Britannica, including thousands more that are not found in the print set. The resource also includes year-in-review articles from recent yearbooks, The Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Most articles are brief or of moderate length and discuss people, places, institutions, things, or concepts. Longer articles are divided into separate sections for easier access and more accurate searching.

The database also includes an extensive World Atlas linking users to maps, flags, statistics, and more for many countries. The Web Sites section in each article includes links to related Web sites, selected for content by Britannica editors.

F

Films on Demand

Films on Demand consists of 42,954 video titles (334,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.

G

GALILEO

GALILEO is an outstanding online collection of over 220 databases. Many of the databases contain full-text articles. Users can access GALILEO off-campus by using your STC email credentials when prompted to log in.

I

Infobase Ebooks

Infobase eBooks features thousands of core reference works from acclaimed imprints such as Facts On File, Ferguson's, and Bloom's on a wide range of subjects areas, from history to science, literature, and more.

J

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

M

Mometrix

Mometrix provides materials and study guides for standardized exams including TEAS, NCLEX, Accuplacer, SAT, ACT, as well as other exams.

O

OVID Nursing Community College Basic Journal Collection

OVID Nursing Community College Basic Journal Collection provides online access to the following journals. Once you are on the OVID landing page, you can create email notifications for these journals by clicking on the blue @ symbol.

American Journal of Nursing 

Home Healthcare Now 

Home Healthcare Nurse 

MCN: The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing

Med/Surg Insider Supplement

Men in Nursing 

Nurse Educator 

Nursing 

Nursing Critical Care

Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! 

S

Salem Press

Salem Press offers reference resources in literature, health, science, history, and careers.

T

Third Iron

Third Iron provides the STC Library several beneficial services.

Search for journals by title, subject, or ISSN through Browzine

To find an article, use LibKey.io if you have the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) or PMID (PubMed identifier)

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge that provides instant links to full-text content for articles as you do research on the web. Nomad works with the STC library to figure out the fastest path to content across thousands of publisher websites. Special enhancement is also performed in-line on sites like PubMed and Wikipedia.